Governing Board

The Davidson Academy Governing Board is a public body and is hereby given such reasonable and necessary powers, not conflicting with the Constitution and the laws of the state of Nevada, as may be required to attain the ends for which the school was established and to promote the welfare of pupils who are enrolled in the school (according to Nevada Revised Statute 388C).

The governing body is comprised of three individuals selected by senior elected officials of the state of Nevada; four individuals selected by the founding entity (The Davidson Institute for Talent Development); the State Superintendent of Public Instruction (ex officio); and the President of the University of Nevada, Reno (ex officio). Public meetings are held four times a year, once every quarter.

Governing Board Members

Appointed by Senior Elected Officials of the State of Nevada

  • Annette Whittemore, Co-founder of the National Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Institute in Nevada

Appointed by the Operating Entity, the Davidson Institute for Talent Development

Ex-Officio Members

  • Steve Canavero, Superintendent of Public Instruction of the State of Nevada
  • Traci Davis, Washoe County School District Superintendent
  • Marc Johnson, President of the University of Nevada, Reno (UNR)

Meeting Information


Meeting Notice (PDF)
Monday, Nov. 5, 2018

Meeting Minutes (PDFs)
Monday, Sept. 17, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Monday, Feb. 26, 2018


Meeting Minutes (PDFs)
Monday, Nov. 6, 2017
Monday, Sept. 18, 2017
Monday, May 15, 2017
Monday, Feb. 27, 2017


Meeting Minutes (PDFs)
Monday, Nov. 7, 2016
Monday, Sept. 12, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Monday, Feb. 29, 2016


Meeting Minutes (PDFs)
Monday, Nov. 9, 2015
Tuesday, Sept. 15, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015